The Turn of the Screw

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James

This book has been on my TBR for so long, as is the case for most horror fans. It is one of those books one just has to read at some point since it has had a significant impact on the horror genre itself.
I especially found interest in the book after watching the Netflix show, The Haunting of Bly Manor, which was inspired by the book. I loved the show and knew the book was a ”must read” for me.
To be honest, the book was not quite as thrilling as the show. I didn’t really get scared or anything, but the story was good. It is clearly written at a different time, influencing the writing style. I have not enjoyed that much in the past, but I do seem to be more and more intrigued by it.
I think I mostly enjoyed drawing the parallels between the book and the show more than actually enjoying the book.
Not much happened, and a lot of the time was spent on dialogue that seemed somewhat irrelevant. I can, however, see and understand the impact the book has made in the past and on the genre. The style and the theme has been used a lot ever since, and the plot itself is also highly enjoyable.
I think we, in modern times, are used to more action and a storyline with a lot more going on. That means we quickly get bored with the older stuff. I think that is the case here, it isn’t boring per se, but it just doesn’t have as much going on as I’m used to in horror.
I think the book has made me appreciate the show even more. Despite being very different – it really stayed true to the story’s core.
I listened to the audiobook, and I thought the narrator brought a lot of personality to the story. Highly enjoyable and easy to follow.
I am happy I picked up the book, even if it wasn’t as suspenseful, scary, or thrilling as I had hoped. It is a classic for a reason.
3 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “The Turn of the Screw

Leave a comment