August Wrap-Up

Yes, my friends, it is that time of the month again – time for a wrap-up!
I had big bookish plans for August. I was gonna spend basically the whole month reading. Yeah… That didn’t happen. I am not very good at dealing with heat. With the heat wave hitting Europe, I have had zero energy and pretty much one month-long headache. So I did not spend the month reading, but all things considered, I feel like I got around to a reasonable amount. I ended with a total of 11 books, and I am very excited to share my reading experiences with you all!

Physical Books:

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black: The month’s first book was a reread for me. I listened to the audiobook last year and felt like it was the kind of series that deserved to be read as a physical book as well. So I finally got around to it again, and I loved it just as much this time! It has all the best parts of the fae universe, and it delivers so many mind games, revenge, and twists, and I love it.
Full review: The Cruel Prince

Heartstopper Vol. 4 by Alice Oseman: Another reread for me. But the first time I read it anywhere else than on Tappas. Honestly, this series needs to be read as a physical book. It is beautiful and so heartwarming! I love Nick and Charlie.
Full review: Heartstopper bog 4

Twilight the Graphic Novel vol 1 & 2 by Stephanie Meyer & Young Kim: I might not be the biggest Twilight fan, but I found these graphic novels at the library and LOVED the covers. It was an excellent way to revisit the universe without committing too much. It is, of course, much the same as the novel, but a lot shorter and more straight to the case. The artwork was the best part.
Full reviews: Twilight: The Graphic Novel vol. 1 & Twilight: The Graphic Novel vol. 2

The Wicked King by Holly Black: The second book in the Cruel Prince series. It was everything I had hoped for! The plotting, backstabbing, and great villains delivered precisely how I wanted it! I am so excited to read the last book!
Full review: The Wicked King

Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë: Yeah, not my favorite. I truly appreciate the book for the time it was written, especially the author’s impact. But as a reading experience today, I must admit it wasn’t really for me.
It had some good parts and excellent writing skills, but I found a lot of it boring.
Full review: Agnes Grey

Young Mungo by Douglas Stuart: I LOVED this book! So emotional, gripping, heartbreaking, heartwarming, and loveable. The author did a fantastic job with it; it is a book that will stay with me for so long. Highly recommend it to anyone who enjoyed A Little Life. I am still all fuzzy after finishing it.
Full review: Unge Mungo

Audiobooks:

A World Without Princes by Soman Chainani: This is the second book in the School for Good and Evil series. It was a good story. It had some major plot issues or, more like, message issues, but it was a cute and entertaining story.
Full review: A World Without Princes

China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan: I really enjoyed this one. The trilogy seems to be the perfect light read. It has drama, love interests (without it being the main plot), lots of interesting cultural points, and a decent storyline. I also really enjoy the narrator – she does a great job!
Full review: China Rich Girlfriend

The Cabin in the Woods by Sarah Alderson: This one disappointed me. I had heard so much good about it. It is super hyped on the Thriller pages – but it just didn’t do it for me. I had to think about what the heck it was about when I sat down to write this – never a good sign when you can barely remember the book 12 days after you finish it.
Full review: The Cabin in the Woods

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett: This was simply great! The production was awesome, fun, and genuinely entertaining. However, I do think you need to have some sort of knowledge of what it is about before starting this audiobook. Otherwise, it must be really confusing. But if you do, it is really good. By far the best production I have listened to.
Full review: Good Omens

What did you read this month? have you read any of these?

Leave a comment