The Virgin Suicides

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides.

Uhm… Okay?
So this book was definitely something else. I expected a tragic book about a family with four daughters. Each daughter would commit suicide.
Instead, however, I got a book about a bunch of perverted boys who stalked a tragic family and, more or less, witnessed five suicides…

The book has received a lot of different reviews. People seemed to either really like it or absolutely hate it. I got curious! It also happened that the book was perfect for two of the reading challenges I’m doing this year, so I figured I would give it ago. I mean, how bad could it be if some people loved it?
Turned out I am one of the haters.
The book made no sense. Why would we hear about it from these boys’ point of view? what is the point of hearing graphic details about the girls’ looks and sexual experiences? It was both vulgar and so very unnecessary… I realize I sound like a prude. I just didn’t see the point at all!
On top of that, nothing is explained, and everything is just left as a big question. Why did they kill themselves? Why did they all do it the way they did? What happened inside that house? Why did their parents react the way they did? And what on earth was the point or meaning of the picture of the virgin Mary and the phone number? Who knows… At least not anyone who finished the book…
The book had such potential, and I kept searching for the meaning of it all. I just never got one.

It is written as non-fiction, from the boys’ point of view, years after telling the story of what had happened. They talked about people as if they had interviewed them, and I actually liked the style. It made it feel very real and made the story of the girls more interesting. Too bad it was ruined by the point of view and the irrelevant details added by stalking boys.
I don’t know… But this book was not for me.

2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a comment