The Witches

The Witches by Roald Dahl

Today I’ve been cuddling up with the graphic novel edition of this fantastic classic. I am sad to say I didn’t grow up reading this book and didn’t actually watch the movie until a few years ago. But Roald Dahl was part of my childhood, and this is definitely a must-read for all children and childly minded.

The book follows a little boy in the summer after his parents die. He now lives with his grandmother, who tells him the truth about witches.
Soon after, they go to a hotel, where they come face to face with the wickets of them all.

The story is so charming. I really enjoyed the storyline, and I think the graphic parts made it even more fun and entertaining. The art is probably not my favorite, to be honest, but it is cute, and it is fun. It definitely speaks to children, which is the point, I guess. Full of color and goofiness, which is very much in the style of Roald Dahl.
It is easy to follow and will work well for children learning to read.
The physical book itself is very lovely. I love a good hardcover book with great quality paper and a focus on the details. It gives a very nice reading experience.
I now can’t wait to watch the new movie with Anne Hathaway! It is going to be great!
3 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “The Witches

Leave a comment