Crazy Rich Asians

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan.

The movie adaptation of this book is one of my favorite Rom coms. It is funny and unique – so much more than just another love story.
I had been considering the book for ages, not really sure if I wanted to read it or not, but I finally caved. I am happy I did.

The book follows the Chinese-born American Rachel as she follows her boyfriend on a summer vacation in Singapore. Once there, she realizes that he and his family are much richer than she had expected. Rachel is thrown into the dramatic life of the upper-class Asians.
Unlike the movie, however, the book follows more different characters and jumps between the point of view throughout the book. This gives a lot bigger understanding of the characters but also widens the storyline quite a lot. I still see Rachel as the official main character. Still, the others definitely play a more significant role in the book.

I really enjoyed the book. It was funny and clever, and the premise is so different from most chick-lit books I’ve read. I honestly don’t read many of them anymore. They are often so cliche and alike that I feel like I’m wasting my time. This one, however, is very entertaining. I think the whole cultural aspect is peeking at my interest. The words the author uses and the traditions mentioned throughout the book add something new for me, and I really liked it. In addition, the same sharp humor is used as in the movie, and I was entertained almost 100% of the time.
I ended up listening to the audiobook, and I loved the dialects and the correct pronunciation of the Chinese words used in the book. I think it made the book even more special somehow, and unlike if I had read it on my own, it felt more authentic. (I realize that the rich culture, such as the one in these books, is not how most Chinese people live). I could never pronounce the words correctly. But I do think I might add the books to my collection some time and read them, now knowing how they should sound.

I loved how true to the story the movie had stayed – of course, there was so much more to the book, and I enjoyed getting even more details and story out of it! It has been a very long time since a chick-lit story has entertained me this much, and I can’t wait to continue the series!
4 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “Crazy Rich Asians

Leave a comment