Death at Dusbar College

Death at Dusbar College by Laura DiNovis Berry.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. So, after a few busy months, I finally got around to it.

The book follows the 11-year-old boy Christiano as he visits his aunt at a magical school. Here he is introduced to magical education and is invited to celebrate the Grand Magician’s birthday party. But something happens to the Grand Magician, and Christiano tries to solve the riddle.

The book is a cute little chapter book, perfect for a younger audience. It is a light read with a fun and intriguing storyline. It is a children’s mystery, with a lot of humor and a light feeling to it – nothing scary or unsettling despite the theme of death.
The story is imaginative, and I’m sure it would be a highly entertaining read for a younger audience.
Personally, I think I am just too old for the book. I wanted a bit more out of it, and especially the ending felt a bit too quick.
The author has good potential, and I can imagine this book being a more extended read, with a lot more detail to the plot – that could have been great.
But seeing that this is written for children, I see the success as a short and easy read.
Honestly, I am probably not the right person to judge the book, and my personal opinion is affected by my age. However, I think I would have enjoyed the book a lot more as a child.
3 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “Death at Dusbar College

Leave a comment