Crush

Crush by Tracy Wolff

I recently read the first book in this series (My full review is available here: Crave) I must admit it wasn’t as good as I hoped, but I was encouraged to continue the series. I am honestly happy I did – the second book was better and definitely worth the time!

The book continues a few months after Crave left us. Something is not quite right, and Grace can’t figure out what it is. Everyone is acting weird around her, and she hears a voice in her head that definitely isn’t her own.

Okay, so I really enjoyed this book! I know the series, in general, has received very mixed reviews, but I think that when you start this type of YA fantasy, you mustn’t take it too seriously. It will be cheesy, and you will roll your eyes a few times. Also, it had some of the bigger cliches, like a love triangle – and yes, many people hate that. But I actually thought it appropriate in this book, and it made sense to me! Especially because I do NOT like Jaxon! I think he is manipulative, sexist, jealous, and way overprotective. I do not care for him at all, and I think the chemistry between him and Grace is weak. So yeah, bring in another guy to challenge him!
It also has that whole ”main character is new to power, yet super powerful and manage to do things no teenager should be able to do” thing… And yes, I am honestly a bit tired of that in ALL YA Fantasies, but hey… it does make it more interesting.

It is clear to me that the author has grown since the first book, her writing style is better, and she doesn’t use the same phrases repeatedly as she did in the first one. Okay, maybe a few times, but nothing like the first book.
People keep saying it is too similar to both Harry Potter and Twilight. I don’t really see it. Yes, it has some similarities, especially to Twilight, but how are you going to write a YA book about vampires and not have it be the slightest bit similar to that?
I stand by my opinion that this series seems to be better than Twilight.

I listened to the audiobook, and the narrators did a great job. I was interested throughout the whole thing and can’t wait to start the next book. No, the book was not a masterpiece, but how many YA books are? Also, sometimes we need to read books ONLY for our own entertainment, and I was entertained.

Now, this part will contain spoilers.
Let’s talk about Hudson. I am 100% team Hudson all the way, and I love how he is introduced to the series, how he lives inside her mind, and their dynamic is excellent.
He is a well-written character with the right amount of struggles but isn’t as whiny as his brother. Yes, I do love a sassy and sarcastic male love interest, and I loved how it was only Grace who could hear him. The ending was epic. I know people disliked it – but I loved it!!!! I was hoping it would turn out that way, and I can’t wait for the next book and hear Jaxon’s reaction! It is going to be great!

I will give the book 4 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Crush

Leave a comment