MadHouse

MadHouse by Miguel Estrada

I enjoy novellas sometimes, as an easy and faster read in between longer books. I have had this one on my Kindle for a few years and actually had no idea what it was about. I assume it was about a haunted house, judging by the cover.
Turned out the story is about a young boy, Lucas, who learns about his parent’s divorce and decides to run away to make them change their minds.
But not long after he leaves the house, he stumbles upon the lady Bella. She offers him a ride, but something is not quite right.
Lucas wakes up in a strange house on a dirty mattress, and things are definitely wrong.

Okay, so the book is not bad. It’s an intriguing short story, easy to follow, and easy to read. It has a pretty good plot and also some small twists, and especially a good ending.
I don’t think the book was great, though. It had some weaker parts, things that didn’t really make sense, and lacked a bit of suspense, I guess. I didn’t feel thrilled the way I was hoping to, and it wasn’t really scary as much as just a bit gross.
I think the book would be great for a younger audience, maybe. I think if I’d read it as a teenager, I would have found it much more realistic and, therefore, scarier.
But again, it wasn’t bad! And for a short story, it was some easy entertainment, and I did enjoy most of it. I liked the ending. It was intriguing and added a little extra. I wish more of the book would have been like that.

One thought on “MadHouse

Leave a comment