May Wrap-up

Hi guys!
It is, once again, time for a monthly wrap-up. May has been a great month for me, I have read a lot of great books and listened to a lot of good audiobooks. For once I actually feel like I made it through as many books as I had hoped for.

Audiobooks:

Court by Tracy Wolff ⭐️⭐️⭐️

This is the fourth book in the Crave series, and I must admit that at this point, they are all starting to blur together a little bit.
This one is the longest so far, and frankly, it was too long. There are just new challenges, new people they have to go find, new tournaments or evil ”games” they have to win. It is a bit much.
Of course, that means the books are full of action, but there’s also a limit to how much is too much. This is it. It is too much.
On top of that, I honestly think this should be the last book in the series. I hated the smut scenes, so out of place and so forced… Grace your friends are in danger stop looking at his abs.
If you want more romance in the book, add it at appropriate times.
Full review: Court


Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg ⭐️⭐️⭐️

The book is perfect for children. It is a short and adventurous book but without all the scary and dangerous parts that appear in the movie. It is straightforward and fun to read. I kind of feel like reading the plot idea behind something bigger – behind the film, I guess.
And even though I enjoyed it, it isn’t really more than 10 minutes of cozy reading. So there really isn’t much to it.
Nevertheless, if you are a true fan of Jumanji or have some children who would enjoy a short but fun book – this is for you.
Full review: Jumanji



Ensnared by A.G. Howard ⭐️⭐️⭐️

The story is so easy to follow, despite many things going on. I had a hard time paying attention every now and then, which didn’t really happen with the previous books. But I really enjoyed it. The universe is great. I love the darker side and love the split between our world and wonderland.
Alyssa has a lot more to offer in this one, and she is a far better main character, to be honest. I know a lot of people don’t care for love triangles, but I really don’t mind it – at least if the characters are as great as they are in this one.
I am (obviously) still team Morpheus, but Jeb definitely delivers in this book as well!
I wish the author had dug a little deeper with some minor characters, like Alyssa’s parents. I feel like there could have been a lot more there. Maybe a little less of Jeb’s self-despair?
But I feel like we had some major character development, and I love that in a book.
Full review: Ensnared




Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane ⭐️⭐️⭐️

It is a good psychological thriller. It definitely has those frustrating elements; you’re unsure what to believe. That creates such a good hold on the reader, and it was hard to stop reading once I got to that part.
To be honest, I hadn’t really expected to like it. I just kind of wanted to give it a chance. I don’t know, the writing style threw me a bit, and I often find that style a bit boring. So I’m glad I took the chance. It was a good story and a well-written book.
Despite being a short book, it is a bit of a slow burn.
I didn’t love it, it is not gonna be a book I re-read at some point, but I kept thinking about it when I wasn’t reading – and that is how you know it’s a book worth reading
Full review: Shutter Island


The Guernsey Literary and Potato peel pie society by Mary Ann Shaffer ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really loved this book!
I watched the movie first, and I think that made an important impact of my experience with the book.
I usually don’t like the structure of letters, but since I already knew most of the characters and the storyline it worked so well.
I do think it would have been an easier/lighter read if it hadn’t had that structure though.
Highly recommend it for any book lover.
Full review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society



Untamed by A.G. Howard ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

As it often is with collections of short stories, not all of them are equally good. But they each add something good, and I enjoyed listening to them almost as much as I did with the original books.
I don’t want to go into too much detail with the storylines. I don’t want to give anything away or spoil it. In general, this series had been so great and one of the better Alice retellings I’ve read. (and I’ve read a lot!) It is darker but not gory or considered dark fantasy. It has great characters – I am looking at you, Morpheus! And just an original and interesting story.
If you have read the trilogy, you simply must read this one as well.
Full review: Untamed


Insomnia by Sarah Pinborough ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really enjoyed this book. It was entertaining and interesting from the beginning, and I loved the plot.
Some of the twists might have been a bit predictable, but I didn’t mind. The plot was still great, the main character interesting, and the whole storyline very well made.
These thrillers can be so frustrating, and once the main character starts to question themselves, I get this UUUGGH feeling. I did with this one as well, but it was really worth it.
It had a great buildup full of suspense and thrilling moments. The main character had some horrible, stupid moments, but I kept voting for her, and I kept being intrigued.
I know this book has gotten pretty different reviews. It might be a hit-or-miss kind of situation.
Full review: Insomnia

Physical Books:

The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Each story is wonderfully macabre and gothic. My favorite of the four was undoubtedly the second about the mental hospital. But all four were pretty good.
I really enjoyed reading this, primarily because of the amazing artwork. I don’t think I’ve ever read a graphic novel where the art just fitted THAT well. Gris Grimly is undoubtedly a very talented artist, and he managed to capture Poe’s stories so well.
I must admit, I am probably too used to more modern stories, and I still prefer a more modern writing style. Still, it was definitely a great reading experience. The fact that the (I’m sorry, but pretty dry) writing style was paired up with the very graphic art made the stories great.
I loved the imagery Poe uses, and the stories about insanity and the human mind were just intriguing and horrific.
I can highly recommend this edition if you’re a bit curious about Edgar Allan Poe but, like me, a little hesitant due to the ”older language”.
It is also perfect for any graphic novel fan; the art is really fantastic!
Full review: The Tell-Tale Heart and Other Stories

Give a Boy a Gun by Todd Strasser ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really love Todd Strasser’s books! I grew up reading a lot of them, and I love how much there is to learn.
This one was very unique, it feels like reading a non-fiction, and it makes it very real – which is terrifying. Strasser has a talent for brining up important subjects and making his message come across very easily. It is a great book to show what bullying can do to a person, and why we need more focus on the environment in schools – and gun control
Full review: Give a Boy a Gun

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera ⭐️⭐️⭐️

So Silvera is the master of writing Sci-fi inspired YA. His books always have some cool twists and futuristic elements that make them different from other YA. This one is no different. It has some great elements, and it is a brilliant plot.
I will admit that you can tell this is his debut. He has definitely grown with his writing style since. It also did take me around 100 pages to actually get into the book.
But!!!! It was worth it in the end.
The book is both heartwarming and absolutely gutting to read, and I love it. I love how horrible I feel right now – 30 minutes after finishing it, I love having to take a moment to just stare out in space to be able to deal with what I just read. I felt connected to the characters, especially Aaron. His heartaches hurt me, and I loved it. Silvera has this insane talent of creating something so thoughtful and mesmerizing that makes us think and makes us appreciate. It truly is a lovely debut. As I said, I do believe the beginning could have been better, and I didn’t connect with it until pretty far in. But honestly, once it hit me, it hit me hard. And that is how you write a book! It had its flaws, yes, but I really enjoyed it. And that’s honestly all I care about.
4 out of 5 stars – rounded up from 3,5 because of the slow beginning.
Full review: More Happy Than Not

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I don’t understand why people don’t like this book. I loved it.
I thought it was clever and well written. Loved the small connections between this and the Hunger Games trilogy, and really enjoyed reading a book from the villains point of view.
I think many people may dislike it because they don’t like Snow, but that’s the point. We are supposed to hate him.
I highly recommend it!
Full review: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

Heartstopper vol 1 by Alice Oseman ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Oh, how I freaking love this series! They are so adorable and you just can’t do anything but fall in love.
Alice Oseman is the master of YA, and I just love Nick and Charlie!
Full review: Heartstopper Volume 1


Heartstopper vol 2 by Alice Oseman ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Yes… Once again I just adore them! I had to reread the first two books, before starting the third one. It is always a pleasure to revisit these books.
Full review: Heartstopper Volume 2


Heartstopper vol 3 by Alice Oseman ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I finally got the third book! I absolutely love it. I read it years ago on Tapas, but it truly adds something extra to sit with in your hands. The art is lovely and the storyline adorable. More please!
Full review: Heartstopper Bog 3.


De Røde Huer by Duprée Bigum ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I received this book from the author, and it is really something different from my typical reads. I enjoyed big parts of it, but must admit it isn’t my favorite genre.
Full review: De Røde Huer

Ebooks:

Madhouse by Miguel Estrada ⭐️⭐️

Okay, so the book is not bad. It’s an intriguing short story, easy to follow, and easy to read. It has a pretty good plot and also some small twists, and especially a good ending.
I don’t think the book was great, though. It had some weaker parts, things that didn’t really make sense, and lacked a bit of suspense, I guess. I didn’t feel thrilled the way I was hoping to, and it wasn’t really scary as much as just a bit gross.
I think the book would be great for a younger audience, maybe. I think if I’d read it as a teenager, I would have found it much more realistic and, therefore, scarier.
But again, it wasn’t bad! And for a short story, it was some easy entertainment, and I did enjoy most of it. I liked the ending. It was intriguing and added a little extra. I wish more of the book would have been like that.
Full review: MadHouse

Leave a comment