Insomnia

Insomnia by Sarah Pinborough

What a rollercoaster to be on! I love a good thriller, and this one definitely qualifies as that.

The book follows Emma, a 39-year-old layer, married and mother of two. She is struggling with turning 40 because it was the age her mother turned crazy at.
As her birthday edges closer, Emma starts acting as her mother had. She spirals down into an epic paranoia full of fear and theories.

I really enjoyed this book. It was entertaining and interesting from the beginning, and I loved the plot.
Some of the twists might have been a bit predictable, but I didn’t mind. The plot was still great, the main character interesting, and the whole storyline very well made.
These thrillers can be so frustrating, and once the main character starts to question themselves, I get this UUUGGH feeling. I did with this one as well, but it was really worth it.
It had a great buildup full of suspense and thrilling moments. The main character had some horrible, stupid moments, but I kept voting for her, and I kept being intrigued.
I know this book has gotten pretty different reviews. It might be a hit-or-miss kind of situation. The ending (which might be seen as a spoiler) was intense… Like honestly, how do you not expect the reader to just sit there and stare out in the world with disbelief… That was like a hit in the stomach.
I loved the doubt, the mental questioning, and the people who went against her – honestly, it was just a great book!
This has been one of the best thrillers I’ve read this year, and I highly recommend it.

4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Insomnia

Leave a comment