More Happy Than Not

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.

*Deep exhale* this feeling right here is how I always feel when I finish a book by Adam Silvera. How does he manage to do this? Why do I keep going back for more?

More Happy Than Not is about sixteen-year-old Aaron, who lives in the Bronx. He struggles after a horrible family tragedy, which has left him with a horrific scar on his wrist and a shattered heart.
Once he meets the boy Thomas, he starts opening up, and he realizes that there might be more to the whole tragedy than he thought.

So Silvera is the master of writing Sci-fi inspired YA. His books always have some cool twists and futuristic elements that make them different from other YA. This one is no different. It has some great elements, and it is a brilliant plot.
I will admit that you can tell this is his debut. He has definitely grown with his writing style since. It also did take me around 100 pages to actually get into the book.
But!!!! It was worth it in the end.
The book is both heartwarming and absolutely gutting to read, and I love it. I love how horrible I feel right now – 30 minutes after finishing it, I love having to take a moment to just stare out in space to be able to deal with what I just read.
I felt connected to the characters, especially Aaron. His heartaches hurt me, and I loved it. Silvera has this insane talent of creating something so thoughtful and mesmerizing that makes us think and makes us appreciate. It truly is a lovely debut.
As I said, I do believe the beginning could have been better, and I didn’t connect with it until pretty far in. But honestly, once it hit me, it hit me hard. And that is how you write a book! It had its flaws, yes, but I really enjoyed it. And that’s honestly all I care about.
4 stars out of 5. (Rounded up from 3,5 because of the slow beginning.)

One thought on “More Happy Than Not

Leave a comment